Jun 20, 2024  
College Catalog 2014-2015 
College Catalog 2014-2015 ARCHIVED CATALOG

President’s Message

Sharon D. Herzberger, Ph.D. PresidentWhittier College’s values - rooted in a distinguished and colorful history - echo throughout our campus. They characterize the four tenets of our liberal arts education: community, communication, cultural perspectives, and connections. And, they characterize the small class size and the active and collaborative learning that takes place throughout the College. At Whittier, regardless of major, you will gain a breadth and depth of knowledge to prepare you for a lifetime of change and opportunity. You will build critical thinking and writing skills and connect theory to real world applications. You will gain awareness of your unique talents and find mentors among our distinguished faculty and loyal alumni to help you begin the path to your own career.

You will accomplish all of this on a campus named for poet John Greenleaf Whittier, who is known as much for his fiery abolitionist spirit and concern for social justice as for his poetry and ballads. You will take pride in being called a “Poet” yourself and in knowing that a long line of Poets preceded you, found a niche or two while on campus, graduated, and accomplished much in life.

When you contemplate how you will spend your years at Whittier and what you want to achieve afterward, consider this: Whittier has educated writers and artists, scientists and bankers, lawyers and teachers, and even a president of the United States. Within this catalog and on our friendly campus you will find the way to open doors to the opportunities you seek. Explore our rich offerings, sample Whittier’s breadth and depth, and dream.

Sharon D. Herzberger, Ph.D., President (2005)

Past Presidents of Whittier College

Charles E. Tebbetts, A.B.; Ph.B.; A.M.; D.D. (1901-1907)
Thomas E. Newlin, B.S.; A.M.; Ph.M.; LL.D.; D.D. (1907-1915)
Absolom Rosenberger, A.B.; LL.B.; LL.D.; D.D. (1915-1918)
Harry N. Wright, Ph.D. (1918-1923)
Walter F. Dexter, A.B.; M.A.; Ed.D.; LL.D. (1923-1934)
Herbert E. Harris, Ph.D.; Litt.D. (Acting President 1933-1934)
William O. Mendenhall, Ph.D.; D.D. (1934-1943)
William C. Jones, A.B.; M.B.A.; Ph.D.; LL.D.; L.H.D. (1943-1951)
Paul S. Smith, A.B.; M.A.; Ph.D.; L.H.D.; LL.D. (1951-1969)
Frederick M. Binder, B.A.; M.A.; Ph.D.; LL.D.; Litt.D.; L.H.D.; Ped.H. (1970-1975)
W. Roy Newson, B.A.; M.A.; Ph.D.; L.H.D. (1975-1979)
Eugene S. Mills, A.B.; M.A.; Ph.D.; LL.D.; L.H.D.; LL.D. (1979-1989)
James L. Ash, Jr., B.A.; M.A.; M.Th.; Ph.D. (1989-1999)
Katherine Haley Will, B.A.; A.M.; Ph.D. (1999-2004)
Janice A. Legoza, B.A.; M.P.A (Interim President 2004-2005)